Manage Viewing Permissions and Share an Individual Presentation
Once you have uploaded an audio or video file to My Media or recorded a presentation using the My Media Desktop Recorder software, the resulting presentation on the server will default to the following visibility and viewer settings:
- Visibility: Private
- Audience: Only Me
This means only you as the owner of the presentation can watch it; it is a precaution to allow you adequate time to review and make revisions before sharing the presentation to others.
If you choose to export a Zoom Cloud recording to My Media, the presentation will default to the following visibility and viewer settings:
- Visibility: Viewable
- Audience: Shared Users Only
Read on for more information about managing a My Media presentation's visibility and viewer settings.
Set a Presentation's Visibility
Access the list of presentations on your My Media dashboard where you will notice under each presentation thumbnail a padlock icon. This icon indicates a presentation's visibility status:
- A "locked" icon indicates the presentation's visibility is set to Private.
- An "unlocked" icon indicates the presentation's visibility is set to Viewable.
Click or select the icon to change the visibility from Private to Viewable or vice versa.
Alternative Method for Setting Visibility
You can also change the visibility from a presentation's summary page.
- Click the Edit Details link in the right column, and the options for editing the presentation details will appear.
- In the presentation's "Visibility" field, choose Viewable from the drop-down menu.
- Select Save.
Set a Presentation's Audience
To set viewing permissions for your presentation, navigate to a presentation's summary page and locate the "WHO CAN VIEW?" slider in the right column. Click and drag the slider next to the desired audience:
- Everyone: Presentation is placed in the Public Media Channel and visible to anyone with the link.
- My Organization: Presentation is placed in the Public Media Channel but can only be viewed by authenticated users with ACES SSO.
- On Shared Users: Presentation is not placed in the Public Media Channel, and viewing access must be given to individual users via the Share Presentation button by providing an email address.
- Only Me: Presentation is not placed in the Public Media Channel, and only you can view it.
Please Note: In addition to modifying the "Who Can View?" settings above, you should verify the presentation's visibility is set to Viewable so others may watch the presentation. A presentation set to Private will only be viewable to the presentation's owner; others will receive an error saying the presentation is unavailable.
Share an Individual Presentation
Once a presentation's visibility and audience have been set, you can share an individual My Media presentation by sharing a link to it with others. This option is ideal if you want to share content outside of Canvas.
To begin, access the list of presentations on your My Media dashboard, and select the name of the presentation you wish to share. A summary of the presentation will appear.
- Click on the green Share Presentation button in the right column.
- A "Share Presentation" pop-up window will appear; Copy the Quick Link URL and paste it into an email, web page, or Canvas Inbox message.
- If you would like to embed a presentation into a web page outside of Canvas, select the Embed tab and choose a small, medium, large, or custom player from the "Embed Size" drop-down menu. Copy and paste the embed code into the HTML.