Make Your Presentation Viewable to Others

When you upload a video file to Mediasite, or if you record a presentation using the Mediasite Desktop Recorder software, the visibility of the resulting presentation on the server will default to "Private," meaning only you as the owner can watch it. This is a precaution to allow you adequate time to review and make revisions before displaying the presentation to others.

To allow students and others to view your presentation, you must change the presentation's visibility status to "Viewable." The instructions below describe how to set a presentation to Viewable.

  1. Navigate to your MyMediasite portal

  2. Find your presentation in the list of Mediasite content. You can navigate to the channel or shared folder that contains the presentation by selecting Channels or Shared Folders in the left column.

  3. Under each presentation thumbnail, the presentation's visibility status is displayed via a lock icon. A locked icon indicates the presentation's visibility is set to "Private." Select the icon to toggle the visibility to "Viewable." A "Viewable" presentation is represented by an unlocked icon.

Alternative Method

You can also change the visibility from the presentation's summary page:

  1. Navigate to your MyMediasite portal.

  2. Find your presentation in the list of Mediasite content. You can navigate to the channel or shared folder that contains the presentation by selecting Channels or Shared Folders in the left column, or you can search for it by clicking the Quick Search icon in the top-right corner of the portal.

  3. Select the title of the presentation to open the presentation summary.

  4. Select Edit Details.

5. From the Visibility drop-down menu, select Viewable.

6. Select Save.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment